TANZANIA: Dr. John Pombe Magufuli Sworn in as Fifth President

DAR ES SALAAM, NOVEMBER 6, 2015 (CISA)-Dr. John Pombe Magufuli Joseph was sworn in as Tanzania’s fifth President in a colourful event that took place at the Uhuru Grounds in Temeke, Dar es Salaam on November 5.

“I promise to work to the best of my ability to deliver our election pledges after taking the oath of office. We are aware of the trust and enormous responsibility that you have assigned us but with God’s guidance, people’s cooperation and goodwill our nation can prosper,” swore the president as he took the oath of office.

The ceremony was witnesses by religious leaders, African Union Chairman and several African head of states including Kenya’s Uhuru Kenyatta, Zimbabwean Robert Mugabe, Uganda’s Yoweri Museveni, Rwanda’s Paul Kagame, and DRC’s Joseph Kabila.

The religious leaders included Chief Sheikh, Mufti Abubakar Zubeir Bin Ally, the outgoing Head of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Tanzania (ELCT), Bishop Dr Alex Malasusa and the Archbishop of the Catholic Archdiocese of Dar es Salaam, Polycarp Cardinal Pengo.

There after the first female Vice-President Samia Suluhu Hassan, who comes from Zanzibar, was also sworn in at a stadium in the economic capital Dar es Salaam, promising to “always strive to give proper and honest advice” to the president.

“We are all the winners because the polls ended peacefully. We must now stand together in the broader interest of our nation,” President Magufuli said. President Magufuli won the October 25 poll with over 58 percent of votes on Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) party.

Leave a Reply