TANZANIA: Pope Appoints Fr Kassala New Bishop of Geita

GEITA, APRIL 29 2016(CISA)-Pope Francis has appointed Fr Flavian Kassala, director of the Stella Maris Mtwara College as the new Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Geita in Tanzania.

The diocese of Geita fell vacant when Archbishop Damian Denis Dallu was appointed Archbishop of the Catholic Archdiocese of Songea March 14, 2014.

Archbishop Dallu was the bishop of Geita before he was elevated to lead the metropolitan see of Songea.

The Bishop-elect of Geita was born on December 4, 1967 in Sumve, in the Archdiocese of Mwanza.

He attended the St. Pius X Minor Seminary in Makoko, in the Diocese of Musoma, for his primary and secondary education.

From 1988 to 1990 he was a student at the Minor Seminary of Sanu, in the Diocese of Mbulu, and from 1991 to 1992 at the Preparatory Seminary of Kome, in the Diocese of Geita.

He completed his formation for priesthood with studies in philosophy at the St. Anthony of Padua Major Seminary in Ntungamo, in Bukoba, and studied theology at the St. Paul Seminary in Kipalapala, in Tabora.

He was ordained a priest for the Diocese of Geita on July 11, 1999.

Since his ordination, he has served the following academic and pastoral roles: 1999-2002: Assistant priest in Sengerema, Diocese of Geita; 2002-2004: Formator and Spiritual Director of the Mary Queen of Apostles Minor Seminary in Sengerema and Diocesan Director of the Pontifical Mission Societies; 2004-2012: Student in Rome at the Pontifical Salesian University, where he obtained a Doctorate in Theology with specialization in Youth Ministry and Catechesis, residing in Nepomuceno College; 2013: Coordinator of the Episcopal Projects Office of the Diocese of Geita; 2013-2015: Professor and

Director of St. Augustine University of Tanzania (SAUT) in Arusha; since 2015: Director of the Stella Maris Mtwara College affiliated to St. Augustine Catholic University.

The Diocese of Geita erected in 1984, is a suffragan of Mwanza.

It has an area of 10,697 square kilometers and a population of 943,698 inhabitants, of whom 553,160 are Catholics.

There are 15 parishes, 36 priests (33 diocesan and 3 religious), 30 religious women.

Leave a Reply