UGANDA: Catholic Bishops’ Conference Gets New Office Bearers

KAMPALA, NOVEMBER 14, 2018 (CISA)-Archbishop Anthony Zziwa of the Catholic Archdiocese of Mityana is the new chairman of the Uganda Episcopal Conference (UEC).

Archbishop Zziwa takes over from Archbishop Johnbaptist Odama who has served two terms of four years.

The elections were held on Sunday November 12 at the bishops’ plenary held at St Augustine Institute Nsambya, Kampala.

According to a statement released by UEC, signed by its Secretary General, Monsignor John Baptist Kauta, Bishop Robert Muhiirwa was elected the Vice chairperson and Emmanuel Cardinal Wamala the Patron.

The Bishops also elected members to serve in the ten commissions of Uganda Episcopal Conference for a four year term.

The new chairpersons of the different commissions are: Bishop Callistus Rubaramira for Finance and Administration; Archbishop Dr. Cyprian Kizito Lwanga for Caritas, Justice and Peace; Bishop Sabino Ocan Odoki for Doctrinal; Bishop Sanctus Lino Wanok for Education; Bishop Robert Muhiirwa for Health; Bishop Paul Ssemogerere for Lay Apostolate; Bishop Lambert Bainomugisha for Legal Service; Bishop  Christopher Kakooza for Pastoral; Bishop Francis Aquirino Kibira for Priestly Formation and Institutes of Consecrated Life, and Bishop Joseph Franzelli for Social Communications.